Quora has become the latest firm to suffer a massive breach of user data and therefore consumer trust. The intrusion, discovered on November 30, includes up to 100 million users’ names, email addresses, IP addresses, user IDs, encrypted passwords, user account settings, personalisation data, public actions and content such as questions, answers, comments, blog posts and upvotes.
Whilst many people will have used Quora and forgotten about it. You may still have a Quora account which is active and therefore potentially breached.
Taken any Facebook quizzes?: In some instances, the Q and A site is linked to Facebook quizzes – and some users have found they have Quora accounts that they’re pretty sure they never signed up for, so this could be an issue for quiz takers.
Time to clean up accounts that might not be used: With social media, apps and social sites being breached at a consistent rate, it might be time to take stock of your accounts and start deactivating them to protect yourself and your family.
Social Media accounts
You might have accessed Quora via Facebook or Google. To disconnect social media accounts connected, you can go to Your profile picture > Settings from the drop down menu > Account from the side menu > and scroll down to see Connected Accounts and Disconnect.
You might be receiving emails from Quora, which indicates you have an account. As well as unsubscribing from these using the link at the bottom of the email, you could send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org asking for your data to be deleted. However, given what’s happened, this might not be possible immediately.
How to delete your account
Quora has a handy Q and A page detailing how users can delete their accounts. Unfortunately, you can’t delete the questions you have asked because these are community owned. However, these are not associated with your name publicly.
*** In order to delete your account quickly, go to the account privacy settings and select “Delete Account”. It will ask you for your password in order to confirm the deletion.
*** If the account was created via Google or Facebook, as many are – users will first need to create a password by clicking the “Change Password” link near the top of the page, then click on “create an account password”. Once you confirm, the account will be deactivated immediately and the deletion process will begin.
Note: Quora doesn’t make it easy to delete accounts though: It takes 14 days to delete all your data. Meanwhile, if you login during the next 14 days, the account will be reactivated and deletion will be cancelled.
If you are really concerned and want the account to be deleted before the 14 day deactivation period, Quora advises users to get in touch with the firm via its contact form.
Your Digital File is a platform for individuals and small businesses to secure what matters and share with confidence. Secure data that is personalised and sensitive and only share sensitive information via encrypted platforms such as Your Digital File.